Hello Christmas Diary

Dec 21st. 2013 6.15am

Jasus, some bolt of thunder work me, probably would have woken anyway as I was on my 6hrs sleep limit. Sometimes I’d like to get even a 30 minute extra sleep, alas , not going to happen at this stage in life so enjoy the good six I get.

The official onset of winter has begun as the winter solstice this year falls on December 21 thereby making it the shortest day and the longest night of the year in the northern hemisphere.

On a solstice the sun is at its greatest distance from the celestial equator. The solstice happens when the sun reaches a point where it will appear to shine farthest to the south of the equator, over the Tropic of Capricorn.

The reason behind the occurrence of winter solstice is that the Earth does not spin upright, but on an axis 23.5 degrees from the vertical.

In the southern hemisphere, the winter solstice occurs on June 21 or 22 when the sun is placed in the farthest north.

Today is also the official start of the Christmas break for me but I’m wandering around the house at 6.30 am with major lightening going on outside (surprisingly little thunder at this point) and squally showers along with major gusts of wind equalling horizontal rain. Brrrr and I have to get to town this morning before the Christmas madness begins.

Just completed two nights out on the trot, too much to eat and drink (although I made a fairly early escape out of town last night to get my buddy Leon back to Carrigaline Court Hotel as he has a flight to catch, from Dublin, in the morning. In hindsight, Christmas cane be such a time of massive indulgence and over consumption but the goodwill and friendliness of the Irish as a nation makes it a wonderful time of year. (for most of us)

So it’s still pitch dark here as I contemplate my early visit to Cork City for duck eggs, sausages, bacon (for the turkey and for my breakfast’s over the Christmas) and a nice Happy Christmas Birthday card for Mary Lyons who enjoys a Christmas Eve birthday. I think it’s a beautiful birthday time but most people groan when I mention that ‘Her, Indoors’ celebrates the birthday on Christmas eve.

Today also marks the start of my preparation for the Christmas Day feast. So stay out of my kitchen till St. Stephen’s day at least.

Yes Chef

Talk tomorrow on Day 2 of the Christmas Diary. Summer, the cat is meowing for attention.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

