Fork in the Road

Jeepers, I’ve been away for an awful long time. You see, life can get in the way sometimes. I am sorry for not having made myself write a few line over the past few months but I just could not bring myself to sit down and hit these keys. It is not like I did not have quiet moments, or those reflective times when some real gems come to mind. I have, many times but I also had a lot of other distracting things that seemed to block me. ‘White Noise’ if you like.

fork-in-the-road

Anyway, here I am, Sunday morning 15th. November 2015. The Rugby World Cup is fading into the distance, European Champions cup is up and running. Watched Munster beat Benneton Treviso last night in Thomond Park. Shocking weather but a bonus point win is a win. Moving minutes silence, really moving actually, before kick off to mark the Paris tragedy the evening before.  I’m not going to pen a word on this horrific example of man’s inhumanity to man as there is acres of print this morning and continuous TV coverage suffice to say that when 20’000 rugby fans stand in silence in Thomond Park, gale blowing, driving rain and the French Flag on the big screen many cried and most of us just did what men do, choked back the lump.  Rugby does this to an awful lot of us eejits. I don’t care I love it. Great game, great courage and it’s passionate for all involved, even the fans.

This weekend marks a change of direction for me. Finished up 24 years of fairly full on work on Thursday last and now look to something new. The fork in the road, the chance to at least try and do something that will make a difference to this fragile and precious world we live in.

That’s not to take away from what I have been doing over the last 24 years in the health care world. We made a difference, had a secure job, made our yearly targets and performance goals. The time to downsize a company is a big change for everyone and hence the ‘White Noise’ dominated and the blog was very quiet. Mea Culpa.

One incredible thing I did over the last months was complete a Mindful Based Cognitive Therapy (MBCT) course. After 3 or four years dipping my toe into water with Mindfulness I decided to go and do the full course. I’m now doing a Mindful Based Stress Reduction (MBSR) on-line course also. This is of course on top of 35 years of Transcendental Meditation,

So here goes as we run into Christmas 2015 I look forward to sharing my journey with you.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Fork in the Road

  1. Pingback: Switch on those Stars (or even the fairy lights) | findmywhy

  2. Pingback: The Mindful Breath | findmywhy

Leave a Reply

